News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/5/2008 4:53:50 PM to 3/13/2008 12:00:08 AM.

News Flash


Posted on: March 5, 2008

[ARCHIVED] Elgin Fire Department to Host Awards Ceremony

The Elgin Fire Department awards ceremony will recognize firefighters, citizens, organizations, groups and businesses for acts of heroism, volunteerism and dedicated service on Tuesday, March 11 beginning at 6:30 p.m. at the Heritage Ballroom, 100 Symphony Way.

The recognition categories and the people to be honored are:

Fire Department Awards

Medal of Honor - Awarded to personnel who displayed a conspicuous act of heroism to save the life of another which involved a calculated risk to themselves in an activity above and beyond their normal hazardous duties associated with routine fire department response.

Stanley Balsis
Michael Whalen
R. F. Smith
John Fetzer III

Medal of Merit – Awarded to personnel for an outstanding accomplishment on an emergency scene above and beyond the requirements of their normal assignments which involved unusual circumstances or conditions. The actions taken directly contributed to a positive outcome. The honoree may be on or off duty.

Mark Hendrickson

Purple Heart – Awarded to personnel who received a life threatening or career threatening injury while operating in any phase of an emergency response (which would be responding to, working at, or returning from an emergency.)

Virgil Beard
Robert Bradbury
Leland Danhauer
Cherif Fortin
Richard Gross
Ken Henryson
Jeff Homuth
Eric Hopp
Frank Oliver
Jim Sanders
Charles Stuart
Michael Villareal
David Zierk

Distinguished Service Medal – Awarded to personnel who have continuously performed in an outstanding manor throughout their service career in a leadership, operational or supporting role.

Steve Berry
Charles Lamz
Steve Frazier
Richard Tripoli

Special Award Plaque – Awarded to individuals who have performed honorably and loyally for 15 years on an Elgin Fire Department special emergency response team.

John Miller
Joe Villella
David Olson

Citizens Awards

Life Saving Award –Awarded to civilians who because of their direct involvement have saved or aided in the process to save another’s life.

Joshua Arden
Brett Safford
Diane Mason
Ron Hodges

Fire Chief’s Award –Awarded to individuals, organizations, groups, or businesses, who have donated training, equipment, time, facilities or other type of support to the Elgin Fire Department for the betterment of Elgin’s citizens and surrounding communities.

Tim Buelow
Kathy Bialek
Andrew Hryniewicz
Sandy Pezzullo
Robert Brosnan
Christy Ulrich

Facebook Twitter Email