Sustainability Action Plan

Sustainability Action Plan

Created by citizen working groups and then adopted by City Council in 2011, the Sustainability Action Plan encompasses nine areas of sustainability. The plan's purpose is to "Improve the quality of life for Elgin citizens to improve its local environment, while making Elgin a more viable and vibrant place to live."

 Each area (or recommendation category) of the Sustainability Action Plan provides a number of goals, and each goal has specific, actionable objectives. A total of 108 objectives are included in the plan. Of those objectives nearly a third are education-focused. Other objectives are related things such as policy recommendations, ordinance adoption and incentive programs.

Explore the plan by reading the full document (5 MB download), by recommendation category, or section by section below.

In the fall of 2012, staff created a report on the plan's implementation. Staff provided a progress report to City Council in 2017, estimating nearly 75% of objectives complete or on-going. 

Alternative Energy


Economic Development


Green Building Technologies


Green Infrastructure


Healthy Living and Community Education


Recycling and Waste Management


Transportation and Mobility


Urban Design


Water Resources


Sustainability Commission

The Elgin Sustainability Commission was created to oversee implementation of the Sustainability Action Plan. In addition, it is the commission’s duty to hear presentations from businesses, advocacy groups and other associations regarding opportunities for the City of Elgin. The commission meets monthly and consists of 10 members (9 from the community-at large and 1 non-voting student representative). Click here to learn more about the Sustainability Commission.

Sustainability Honor Roll

The Sustainability Honor Roll recognizes individuals, businesses, organizations and educational programs for their efforts in helping Elgin become a sustainable community. The award seeks to recognize those that help Elgin achieve goals defined in its Sustainability Action Plan. From 2015-2018, the award was given out biannually. In 2019, the Sustainability Commission hosted the first annual Elgin Sustainability Awards ceremony, where three nominees were awarded.

Nominations are welcomed by the public and may be submitted at any time of the year at

Recipients of the Sustainability Honor Roll:

  • Deb Perryman, Elgin High School environmental science teacher
  • Carl Missele, active community member
  • Multifilm Packaging, local business
  • Friends of the Fox River, local non-profit organization
  • Advocate Sherman Hospital, local business
  • Maura Neuffer, naturalist and environmental educator
  • Elgin Fire Station 7, City of Elgin department unit
  • State Representative Anna Moeller, elected official
  • Robin Migalla, resident
  • Green Guerrilla, local business
  • Elgin Community College Biology Honors 108

Need volunteers to help?

There are many groups throughout the community ready and willing to lend a hand.