Founded in 1834, Elgin was chartered as a city by the State of Illinois in 1854. Approximately 100 years later, Elgin became the first city in Illinois to adopt a council-manager form of government.

Town Center

Council-Manager Government

Residents elect eight at-large council members and a mayor, who serve on a part-time basis. The city manager, a full-time professional, serves at the direction of the mayor and city council.

The current council members are Corey Dixon, Dustin Good, Rosamaria Martinez, Anthony Ortiz, Tish S. Powell, Carol J. Rauschenberger, F. John Steffen and Steve Thoren. Elgin's current mayor is David Kaptain, and Richard Kozal serves as the city manager.

The City Council meets every second and fourth Wednesday at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers, located on the second floor of City Hall. Agenda and minutes are available online. Residents may attend in person at City Hall, watch the live video stream, or view live or later on Channel 17/99.

Local, State, Federal Representation

Elgin resides in Kane County and Cook County. A portion of Hanover Township is located within Cook County, and Elgin Township, Plato Township, Rutland Township, Dundee Township, and Campton Township are located within Kane County.

Illinois House of Representatives

Download House District Map

  • Anna C. Moeller (D) District 43
  • Suzanne Ness (D) District 66
  • Maura Hirschauer (D) District 49
  • Dan Ugaste (R) District 65
  • Jeff Keicher (R) District 70

U.S. House of Representatives

Download US Congressional District Map

  • Delia Ramirez (D) 3rd Congressional District
  • Raja Krishnamoorthi (D) 8th Congressional District
  • Bill Foster (D) 11th Congressional District

Illinois Senators

Download Senate District Map

  • Cristina Castro (D) District 22
  • Karina Villa (D) District 25
  • Steve Stadelman (D) District 34
  • Michael Halpin (R) District 36

U.S. Senate

  • Tammy Duckworth (D)
  • Dick Durbin (D)