Sustainability Commission

Commission Regular Meetings 

  • Time: Second Tuesday of every month at 6:00 p.m.
  • Location: Edward Schock Centre of Elgin, West Conference Room, 100 Symphony Way, Elgin, IL 60120
  • Meetings are open to the public

Commission Agendas and Minutes

Commission Responsibilities 

The Sustainability Commission is made up of nine community volunteers and one student representative. The commission was created to assist the city and promote sustainability for the city (link to view Municipal Code 3.87 - Sustainability Commission). 

  • Provide recommendations to city council for policies and initiatives found within the sustainability action plan. 
  • Hear presentations from businesses, advocacy groups and other sustainability related associations regarding opportunities for the city. 
  • Recruit and maintain a list of volunteers willing to lend time to implement recommendations found in the City's sustainability action plan.
  • Coordinate the use of volunteers when appropriate to assist in implementing the projects approved by the sustainability commission and the city council.

Commission Members

Chairperson Tom Armstrong
Commissioner Jeff Biss
Commissioner Dan Brosier
Commissioner Francisco Garcia
Commissioner Sharene Gould-Dulabaum

Council Liaison Carol Rauschenberger
Commissioner Katie Gronke
Commissioner David Jurina
Commissioner Dekovia Livingston
Commissioner Leslie Porter
Student Representative [Vacant]

City Staff Liaison Kristin Youngmeyer

Apply to be a Commissioner

  • Apply to be a Sustainability Commissioner! Click here to complete an application.
  • Apply to be a student representative (sophomore, junior, or senior)! Click here to complete an application.
  • Note: Applications will be kept on file for 12 months, and reviewed as vacancies occur.

Receive Sustainability Commission Updates

  1. Elgin Sustainabiltiy logo
  2. Sign up to receive Sustainability Commission updates.

    Please complete the fields below to receive future communications from the Sustainability Commission.

  3. Thank You

    Thank you for your interest in the Sustainability Commission. Please click 'Submit' below.

  4. Leave This Blank:

  5. This field is not part of the form submission.