Go To Search

Heritage Commission Design Review Subcommittee
  • 6:00 p.m. - Second Tuesday of each month
  • 6:00 p.m. - Fourth Tuesday of each month of April through November
  • City Council Chambers, North Wing

Click here for members and board details.

Description: The Design Review Subcommittee is composed of 7 members. 4 members of the subcommittee shall consist of one representative from each of the City’s historic districts, at least 1 member from the Heritage Commission, and at least 1 at-large member. The 7th member of the subcommittee shall be an additional at large member unless there is no qualified at large nominee then the 7th member shall be an additional member of the heritage commission.

Term: 3 members shall be appointed for a term of 3 years, 3 members shall be appointed for a term of 2 years, and 1 member shall be appointed to a term of 1 year.

Members of the Subcommittee who are members of the Heritage Commission are appointed by the entire Heritage Commission. 

Members of the Subcommittee who are at-large historic district representatives shall be appointed by the City Council.

For information about being considered for a position on this Commission please email the city clerk's office or call the city clerk's office at 847-931-5660. 

Powers and Duties
Powers and duties relate generally to:

  • Review of applications for Certificate of Appropriateness (COA) brought before them to ensure that all exterior work proposed meets the requirements of the Elgin Design Guideline Manual. 

Design Review Subcommittee Meeting Agendas & Minutes