Heritage Commission
  • 7:00 p.m.
  • First Tuesday of each month
  • City Council Chambers, North Wing

Click here for members and board details.

The Heritage Commission consists of nine members appointed by the City Council for three year terms. Members include one architect, one local historian, one licensed real estate agent, and one representative of the Elgin Area Historical Society to the extent that such professionals or persons are available.

Members are also appointed from among professionals in the disciplines of architectural history, historical architecture, planning, archaeology, historic preservation or related fields to the extent that such professionals are available and also include other persons who have demonstrated special interest, knowledge or experience in architecture, history, neighborhood preservation or related discipline.

The building official, or his designee, serves as an ex-officio non-voting member of the commission and acts as secretary of the commission.

For information about being considered for a position on this Commission please email the city clerk's office or call the city clerk's office at 847-931-5660.

Powers and Duties
Powers and duties relate generally to:
  • Promoting the preservation of historic and architecturally significant structures and areas
  • Making recommendations to the City Council for preservation of historic districts
  • Designating landmarks and issuing certificates of appropriateness through the Design Review Subcommittee

Heritage Commission Meeting Agendas & Minutes