Housing Authority of Elgin
  • 5:30 p.m.
  • Fourth Tuesday of each month
  • Authority Offices, 120 S. State St. Elgin, IL 60120


  • Nuhemi Morlaes Salazar 
  • John Steffen
  • James Wooten


  • Ruth Stephens
  • Olivia Cheeks



The Housing Authority of Elgin consists of five members appointed by the Mayor, with the approval and consent of the City Council, for five year terms or until a successor is appointed. Commissioners must be a resident of the area of the operation of the housing authority.

For information about being considered for a position on this commission please email the city clerk's office or call the city clerk's office at (847) 931-5660.

Powers & Duties

Powers and duties include:
  • Providing for and maintaining the public housing of the authority